Web Results
Content Results
  • Commemorative coins of Australia


    Coins of the Australian dollar are circulated with different designs depicting various anniversaries or significant Australian events, these differing coin designs being labelled Australian commemorative coins. Typically, only the 20c, 50c and $1 coins have been minted in commemoration, however in 2012 a commemorative $2 coin was minted for Remembrance Day and in 2016 a 25c gold coin was minted for Anzac Day.

  • Coins of Australia


    Australian penny found in Kensington, Sydney, corroded from exposure to the elementsAustralian coins refers to the coins which are or were in use as Australian currency. During the early days of the colonies that formed Australia, foreign currency was used, but in 1910, a decade after federation, Australian coins were introduced. Australia used pounds, shillings and pence until 1966, when it adopted the decimal system with the Australian dollar divided into 100 cents. With the exception of the first Proclamation Coinage and the holey dollars, all Australian coins remain legal tender despite being withdrawn from circulation.

  • Coin set


    $1 coins from the United States Mint A coin set, or mint set, is a collection of Uncirculated or Proof coins, released by a mint. Such sets are usually released annually and often called a year set. They include sets of all the circulating coins of that year, as well as sets of commemorative coins. The Royal Mint, Royal Australian Mint, Royal Canadian Mint, United States Mint and others mints all release sets of proof and uncirculated coins each year. Sometimes the coins for annual sets are struck in a special way. For example, the Danmarks Nationalbank issues a coin set each year with coins that are "much more clearly embossed than the ordinary coins in circulation." Early coin sets were issued in paper of cardboard folders which often led to toning, due to the sulphur content of the card.

Map Box 1