Web Results
Content Results
  • Choctaw Trail of Tears


    The complete Choctaw Nation shaded in blue in relation to the U.S. state of Mississippi. The Choctaw Trail of Tears was the relocation of the Choctaw Nation from their country referred to now as the Deep South (Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Louisiana) to lands west of the Mississippi River in Indian Territory in the 1830s. A Choctaw miko (chief) was quoted by the Arkansas Gazette that the removal was a "trail of tears and death." After removal the Choctaws became three distinct groups, the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Jena Band of Choctaw Indians, and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

  • Blue County, Choctaw Nation


    Blue County was a political subdivision of the Pushmataha District of the Choctaw Nation, in the Indian Territory. The county was dissolved upon Oklahoma’s statehood in 1907. The territory comprising the former county is incorporated primarily into the present-day Bryan County, Oklahoma. It was created November 6, 1854 from the former Tiger Spring County by the Choctaw Nation. Blue County took its name from the Blue River, an important waterway in the Choctaw Nation. Chahta Tamaha was designated as the county seat on February 18, 1863.The last county seat was Caddo, Indian Territory—the present-day Caddo, Oklahoma, which was also the largest town in Blue County prior to the coming of the railroads. Blue County was bordered on its north by Atoka County, Choctaw Nation and on its east by Jackson County, Choctaw Nation. To its west was the Chickasaw Nation. Originally larger than in later years, Blue County lost territory when a new county, Jackson County, was carved out of Atoka County, Blue County and Kiamitia County in 1886.

  • Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma


    The Choctaw Nation () (officially referred to as the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma) is a Native American territory and federally recognized Indian Tribe with a tribal jurisdictional area comprising 10.5 counties in Southeastern Oklahoma. The Choctaw Nation maintains a special relationship with both the United States and Oklahoma governments. As of 2011, the tribe has 223,279 enrolled members, of which 84,670 live within the state of Oklahoma and 41,616 live within the Choctaw Nation's jurisdiction. A total of 233,126 people live within these boundaries. The tribal jurisdictional area is . The tribe has jurisdiction over its own members. The chief of the Choctaw Nation is Gary Batton, who took office on April 29, 2014, after the resignation of Gregory E. Pyle. The Choctaw Nation Headquarters is located in Durant. The Choctaw Capitol Building is in Tuskahoma; it is now used as the Choctaw Museum and home to the Judicial Department Court System. The Choctaw Nation is one of three federally recognized Choctaw tribes; the others are the Jena Band of Choctaw Indians and Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. The latter two bands are descendants of Choctaw who resisted the forced relocation to Indian Territory. The Mississippi Choctaw preserved much of their culture in small communities and reorganized as a tribal government under new laws after the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934. Those Choctaw who removed to the Indian Territory, a process that went on into the early 20th century, are federally recognized as the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. The removals became known as the "Trail of Tears."

Map Box 1