Web Results
Content Results
  • Ferdinand Ludwig Herff


    Ferdinand Ludwig Herff (1820–1912) was a 19th-century German-born physician who emigrated to Texas and became a medical pioneer in San Antonio. He was one of the co-founders of the Bettina commune. In 1982, Recorded Texas Historic Landmark 1268 was placed on Malakopf Mountain in Boerne, to honor Herff. Herff's homesite in San Antonio was designated a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark in the year 2000, Marker number 12345.

  • V. Craig Jordan


    Virgil Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc, FMedSci (born Texas, US, British/American joint national) is a scientist specializing in drugs for breast cancer treatment and prevention. Currently, he is Professor of Breast Medical Oncology, and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Oncology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas. Previously, he was Scientific Director and Vice Chairman of Oncology at the Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center of Georgetown University. Jordan was the first to discover the breast cancer prevention properties of tamoxifen and the scientific principles for adjuvant therapy with antihormones. More recently his work has branched out into the prevention of multiple diseases in women with the discovery of the drug group, selective estrogen receptor modulator (SERMs). Currently, he plans to develop a new Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) for post-menopausal women that prevents breast cancer and does not increase the risk of breast cancer.

  • Donna Campbell


    Donna Sue Burrows Campbell (born September 9, 1954) is the 25th District member of the Texas Senate. On July 31, 2012, she became the first person in Texas history to defeat an incumbent Republican senator, Jeff Wentworth of San Antonio, in a primary election. She is a medical doctor who practices as an emergency department physician. Campbell represents a district that serves all of Comal County, a small portion of Guadalupe County, a large portion of Hays County, all of Kendall County, and portions of northern Bexar and southern Travis counties.

Map Box 1