Web Results
Content Results
  • Hypochondrium


    In anatomy, the division of the abdomen into regions can employ a nine-region scheme, in which the hypochondrium is the upper part of the abdomen on either side, inferior to (below) the thorax, in the area of the lower ribs. The liver is in the right hypochondrium; the spleen and much of the stomach are in the left hypochondrium. The epigastrium intervenes.

  • Colic flexures


    There are two colic flexures, or curvatures in the transverse colon. The one on the right, the right colic flexure is known as the hepatic flexure. The one on the left, the left colic flexure is known as the splenic flexure.

  • Fatty liver disease


    Fatty liver disease (FLD), also known as hepatic steatosis, is a condition where excess fat builds up in the liver. There are two types: non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and alcoholic liver disease. NAFLD is made up of simple fatty liver and non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). Risk factors for NAFLD include diabetes, obesity, and older age. The condition is also associated with other diseases that influence fat metabolism. It is difficult to distinguish alcoholic FLD, which is part of alcoholic liver disease, from nonalcoholic FLD (NAFLD), and both show microvesicular and macrovesicular fatty changes at different stages.

Map Box 1